h1

Cheesecake Bars!

July 5, 2011

I have been such a slacker in the blog-o-sphere so here I am to redeem myself.  Yesterday was the fourth of July so I’m blogging on a Tuesday instead!

Cheesecake bars have been my go to dessert of the summer and they’re a hit!  They are easy to make and absolutely delicious.  I can’t get enough!


Crust:
1 package of Lotus Biscoff cookies (those airplane cookies, mmm)
3 tablespoons packed brown sugar (I made it the first time without this)
6 tablespoons melted butter (I did a whole stick the first time. Don’t judge.)

Crush the cookies either in a food processor or bag.  I find the food processor works best, but if you don’t have one, a ziploc bag and your fist works too!   Add butter and stir till combined well.  Press the mixture into a 13 x 9 pan.  I used a pyrex dish, very easy to get out.

Cheesecake
3 (8 oz) packages cream cheese, softened
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons flour
3 eggs
8 ounces sour cream
1 tablespoon vanilla (I used vanilla bean paste the first time, its yummy and adds that pretty speckle!)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Cream sugar, cream cheese, and flour with an electric mixer on medium until light and fluffy.  I did it by hand the second time and it worked great still.  Got a good work out!  On medium low, add eggs one at a time, mixing well with each addition.  Add sour cream and vanilla and mix until combined.  Pour on prepared crust and bake for about 45 minutes.  Remove and let cool.  Prepare ganach while cooling.  (The first time I put it in the fridge. The second time I just left it on the counter.)

Chocolate Ganache
8 ounces heavy whipping cream
2 ounces butter
4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate
4 ounces dark chocolate (I used a crushed chocolate bar, which was the perfect amount)

Heat cream and butter on stove until almost boiling.  Remove from stove and pour over chocolate.  Stir until completely  combined.  You’ll know it when you see it.  Pour over cooled cheesecake.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.  Cut into bars and serve. (I used a sharp knife a fork.  Once you get the first one out, it’s easy from there!)

Makes around 30 bars.

I got the recipe from this site and then learned it’s from Bakerella also.

It is truly delicious!

Happy Eating,
Amanda

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers