h1

Corn, Crab, and Shrimp Soup!

September 19, 2011

I made a couple soups this week after feeling sick last weekend and they were both a hit!  I got a bigger response on facebook when I posted that I made this one so I thought I’d put it up first.

My grandma and mother both make a crab and shrimp soup that is tomato based and yummy, but  I was craving something more chowder like.  This soup is made in the crock pot and makes your home smell like yummy seafood goodness.  It was creamy and tasty!  So let’s get straight to it!

Ingredients:

  • 1 quart chicken stock
  • 2 tablespoons butter 
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 32 ounces fresh or frozen corn
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 (6-ounce) can lump crabmeat, drained (I totally didn’t drain these when I put them in, yum still)
  • 1 frozen bag of shrimp (uncooked, peeled)
  • cubed red potatoes
  • sliced celery (at least 4 stalks)
  • 1 cup heavy cream (or half and half)
Procedure:
Put the chicken stock, butter, onion, corn, garlic, salt, cayenne pepper , crabmeat, shrimp, potato, and celery in at least a 4 quart slow cooker.  Cover and cook on high for 4 hours or for 8 hours on low.  If you want a thicker soup, pulse a handheld blender a few times or scoop out a cup and blend in a blender or food processor (be careful – it’s hot!) and add back in.  Stir in the half and half or cream before serving and garnish with avocado or bread!
I took the corn and crab soup recipe from here: http://www.tasteandtellblog.com/2011/08/crab-and-corn-soup/ and added lots to it!
I hope you enjoy! I know I did and will be making it again soon!
Happy eating!
-Amanda
6 comments

  1. Looks delicious – love this soup. Hope you´re feeling better!


  2. So delicious!! Will make this again and again!! Thank you for sharing!


    • So glad you liked it! It is one of my new favorite soups too! :)


  3. I’m so glad you tried this and loved it!!


    • It was so yummy! Thanks for posting such a great recipe! mmm mm :)


  4. [...] most returning visitors are for our Corn, Crab, Shrimp Soup recipe and Cake Ball & Cake Batter Ball [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers