h1

Boo!

October 31, 2010

Halloween is easily one of my favorite holidays.  I think it’s because I get to be extra crafty and creative.  I am always attempting something that I haven’t tried before because its Halloween … and really – no one is going to care if something isn’t sewn just right.

Well – This year I decided I was going to make Martha Stewart’s Ghost Costume.  She shows you how to make it and she also sells it.  Her version can be seen here: http://www.marthastewart.com/article/8-no-sew-costumes-tulle-ghost

I knew I could make it for less – so I decided to go for it.  After many math calculations – I determined I needed about 24 yards of tulle at 108 wide.  This would give me the length from head to toe as well as the fullness I needed for the cape around me.

For under the cape – I made a quick strapless white dress from some sale fabric I found.  After much struggle with my sewing machine, I finally finished the dress.  Yes – its a little tight and it has a blue zipper, but it worked!  No one could see the zipper or notice it was slightly tight.

Plus – I scared a few co-worker with the addition of my make-up.  Success!

Happy Scaring!

– Sarah

Leave a Reply

