h1

Sweet Corn Chowder with Hot-Smoked Salmon Soup

December 13, 2010

I wasn’t sure what I was going to think of this next soup I made, but I thought I’d try it.  It never hurts to try.  The recipe came from my favorite cookbook: Cooking Light: Essential Dinners like most of the recipes I’ve made these days.  Since it’s a Cooking Light recipe it becomes healthier with their changes.  This recipe is traditionally made with smoked bacon in place of the salmon, which sounds amazing.  The salmon is clearly healthier for you and it’s really delicious.  The one downfall of the salmon is it costs a lot of money, but I think it was worth it . Enjoy!

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon butter
2 cups chopped onion
1 1/2 cups cubed peeled baking potato (I used two unpeeled baking potatoes)
3 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth (I used 4 cups)
1 1/2 cup fresh corn kernels (I used frozen corn and canned corn)
1 can no-salt-added cream-style corn (I used two)
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
2 (4.5 ounce) packages hot-smoked salmon, flaked
4 teaspoons chopped fresh chives, for garnish (I mixed them in)

Directions:
Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium-high heat.  Add onion; saute 4 minutes.  Add potato and broth; bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until potato is tender.  Add corn kernels and cream-style corn; cook 5 minutes.  Stir in peppers.  Ladle chowder into  into each soup bowl and divide salmon among bowls.

If you want to know the nutritional value / calories of this dish go here: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=10000001591037

Happy Eating!

-Amanda

One comment

  1. If the recipe is enjoyed and liked, it is moved from the “Limbo” category to the correct category of tried and true recipes.



Leave a Reply

