h1

Black Bean and Chicken Chilaquiles

December 20, 2010

I once again found something in my Cooking Light: Essential Dinners cookbook I was excited about cooking.  Now I don’t often get excited about cooking with chicken, so I thought this casserole like dish would camouflage the chicken and I think it did a great job of it.  According to my cookbook, this is a traditional Mexican breakfast favorite.  I don’t know that I could imagine it in the morning, but I am sure it’s good at all times of day.  The pronunciation is: chee-lah-KEE-lays.  Yea, I can’t say it either.  🙂

Here’s how it’s made:

Ingredients
Cooking Spray
1 cup thinly sliced onion
5 garlic cloves minced
2 cups shredded cooked chicken breast
1 (15-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1 (7 3/4 ounce) can salsa de chile fresco (such as El Pato)  (I used any salsa.)
15 (6 inch) corn tortillas, cut into 1 inch strips
1 cup shredded queso blanco (about 4 ounces)  (I used about triple this amount)

Preparation
Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Coat pan with cooking spray (I actually used a Chili-Garlic Oil, mmm).  Add onion; saute 5 minutes or until lightly browned.  Add garlic; saute 1 minute.  Add chicken; cook 30 seconds.  Transfer mixture to a medium bowl; stir in black beans.  Add broth and salsa to pan; bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Set aside.

Place half of tortilla strips in bottom of an 11 x 7 inch baking pan coated with cooking spray.  Layer half of chicken mixture over tortillas.  (I added a layer of cheese after this.)  Top with remaining tortillas and chicken mixture.  Pour broth mixture evenly over chicken mixture.  Sprinkle with cheese.  Bake at 450 degrees for 10 minutes or until tortillas are lightly browned and cheese is melted.

Yield: 6 servings (more or less depending on what you consider a serving size)
Recipe on Cooking Light’s website

My comments on the turn out of the recipe are that it’s delicious when it’s served right out of the oven.  Really good.  I think it looses its flavor after sitting in the fridge and being reheated.  I’d either suggest to put the salsa mixture in between both layers or adding a can of rotel or just diced tomatoes to the first layer.  My other suggestion would be to serve it with salsa and let people add what they’d like.  Either way, it was really delicious and will probably be gone by the end of the day!  Yummy!

Happy Eating,

Amanda

One comment

  1. Very nice post



Leave a Reply

