h1

Cheesecake Sopapillas

February 14, 2011

Happy Valentine’s Day!  I hope your day is filled with pink hearts and lots of love!  This is one of my favorite holidays.  I’m not usually a pink hearts kind of girl, unless it’s Valentine’s day!  Anyway, I thought I’d post a yummy dessert you could make for your loved ones.  I am pretty sure they’ll love you a little extra if you feed them this deliciousness!  🙂

This recipe was given to me by my Aunt who had eaten it at her sisters house.  She said it was delicious and how could you really go wrong with a name like Cheese cake Sopapillas?

I checked out the recipe and found it was super easy.  I’ve made it twice now and it is delicious.

Here’s the recipe and a few pictures.  If you like cheese cake, you need to try this!

Ingredients:
2 8 ounce packs of cream cheese softened (I used 1/3 less fat and it was still delicious)
1 and 1/4 stick of butter, softened (you can always use more, mmmm)
1 cup Sugar (the first time I made it, I used evaporated cane.  The second time I split this between Stevia and real Sugar.  It’s your call, they both tasted delicious)
1 teaspoon Vanilla
2 8 ounce packs of Crescent Rolls (I used original.)
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I never measured)
1/2 cup sugar for topping (still didn’t measure)

Preparation:
Preheat oven to 350.
Combine cream cheese and 4 tablespoons of butter.  Beat until creamy.  Gradually beat in 1 cup of sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla.  Unroll one package of crescent rolls and place in bottom of a sprayed 9 x 13 pan without separating rolls at perforations.  Stretch to edges of pan and press to seal perforations.  Spread cream cheese mixture evenly over dough.  Unroll remaining package of rolls and place on top of cream cheese mixture.  Melt remaining 6 tablespoons of butter and spread over dough.  Mix cinnamon and sugar together and sprinkle over the melted butter.  Bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees or until slightly puffed and top is golden brown.
Optional: After slightly cooled, drizzle honey on top of crust.  Let cool and cut into squares.

Seriously delicious.  Yummy.  I kinda want some now.

Happy Eating.  🙂
-Amanda

2 comments

  1. I make this ALL the time!! I actually have some in my refrigerator right now! I put a little spin on mine, instead of vanilla I use almond extract and on top of the cream cheese layer I put a peach pie filling and the the final cresant roll layer I put sliced almonds and then my melted butter and cinnamon and sugar. You should try it!!!!


    • I love it! Thanks for the variations! I may have to try that. 🙂



Leave a Reply

