h1

Cake Balls

February 21, 2011

I have been holding back on this post because I’ve been struggling with cake balls.  I used to make a lot of cookie dough balls. They were easy, fast, and delicious.  I recently decided I wanted to make cake balls and felt a bit like a failure.  I tried again only to feel like a failure in the chocolate coating department.

I originally embarked on this feat because David was interested in some pumpkin desserts.  Then I got asked to bake cake balls for a friend’s wedding.  I clearly need more practice.  I baked over the holidays and took these pictures.  Since then I have learned more about the coating process, which is my biggest struggle.  I’ll try again soon, but for now here’s what I did.

Ingredients:
1 cake mix
1 jar of icing (or homemade icing)
Chocolate for dipping

Process
Bake cake as directed on box.  Let cool.  Either mash up with potato masher, or put in food processor.  Mix in icing to make the proper proportion of gooey – toughness.  (I don’t know how to describe it.  I’m clearly not a pro.)  I used a cookie baller to then ball out the cake onto a parchment lined pan.  I put them in the freezer after this.  That’s when I get to the point of melting chocolate.  I don’t know what to tell you on this.  I’ll figure out what works best soon and do a follow up post.  I might try tempering chocolate.  I may use bark.  I don’t know yet.  I’ve been using candy coating chocolate and it gets thick!

The good. (above)

The ugly. (Above)

Enjoy the pictures and we’ll hope for a better turn out next time.  Oh, this set of cake balls are butter cake with buttercream icing.  Delicious taste.  Just close your eyes when you eat.  😉

Good Luck! ha.
-Amanda

2 comments

  1. Caryn has a good recipe for cake balls that she does for her Xmas party every year. One is done with red velvet cake and white chocolate. See if you can get her to post some info on her recipe.

    By the way, the pumpkin balls were addictive they were so yummy.


  2. […] most returning visitors are for our Corn, Crab, Shrimp Soup recipe and Cake Ball & Cake Batter Ball […]



Leave a Reply

