h1

Beef Stew

February 28, 2011

I love beef stew.  It might just be my most favorite warm thing to eat on a cold day.  I love the potatoes, the beef, the vegetables.  I cannot get enough of it.  I made some recently and I couldn’t help but share.

Ingredients:
Flour and Oil for Roux
1 family pack of Stew Meat
Red Potatoes, cubed
Celery
Carrots
Onions
Green Onions
Peppers
Rice
Salt
Pepper
Tabasco

The possibilities are endless!

Process:
Make a roux.
Add onions, peppers, and a little water.  Let this simmer and cook.  Stir well.  Add the meat and let it brown a bit.  Add a little water, just enough to cover maybe.  Once the meat has browned a little, add all the vegetables.  Add water to cover.  Season with salt and pepper and tabasco.  Let the stew come to a boil and then turn it down and simmer for as long as you’d like.  The longer the better.

Cook a pot of rice.  Serve the stew over the rice.

Delicious.  Mmm…  I still have some in the freezer.  I might need to take it out!

Happy Eating, as always!
-Amanda

Leave a Reply

