h1

Meatloaf… Not the artist… the Food.

April 6, 2011

One of my absolute favorite things to make is meatloaf.  I think it’s because I just really think I’ve finally mastered my recipe.  I took a bit of my mom’s recipe and bit a good friend’s (Holly) recipe to make what I now call – MY RECIPE.  (Thanks Holly!)

Sorry for the not so fantastic picture – but I realized after I started eating that I should snap a pic!

Here is my recipe:

Meat Loaf Ingredients

¼ tsp canola oil

¼ tsp chopped garlic

¼ cup each finely diced carrots and onion

Salt and pepper

1 pound of 90 percent lean ground beef (or you could use ground  turkey)

¼ cup shredded Parmesan

¼ cup low-sodium chicken broth

1 lg egg

A few tablespoons of tomato paste

Cooking spray

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Heat oil in a sauté pan over medium heat.

Add garlic and all veggies  and sauté for 4 mins.

Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

In a lg. bowl, break up beef well with your hands.

Stir in cooked veggies, Parmesan, broth and egg.

Season with salt and pepper.

Coat a 3 x 8” loaf pan with cooking spray. Place meat in mixture and push down.

Bake 35 minutes or until internal temperature reaches 140 degrees.  I also drain mine once in the middle of the cooking process.

And then – as you can see by my picture, I love potatoes with meatloaf. I tend to make a home fry  type of potatoes … I’ll save that recipe for another time.

Enjoy.  Happy Meatloafing.

Sarah

4 comments

  1. Sounds delicious Sarah!
    “I would do anything for love, but I won’t do that”
    (Don’t worry, I’m not referring to eating your meatloaf. hehe)


  2. this looks great. i usually don’t like meatloaf, but might have to try this one.


  3. Oh, when I make meatloaf, I like to put a slice of bread at the bottom of the pan because it absorbs all the grease. Dispose of it before eating the meatloaf. 🙂


  4. I do that too on occasion… Sometimes I don’t like to waste my bread though. So I just drain in the middle. 🙂



Leave a Reply

