h1

Cake Batter Balls

May 9, 2011

I am constantly searching cook books, baking blogs, and just about anywhere for a new recipe.  As you already know, I love making cookie dough balls and cake balls are my enemy.  I saw these cute chocolate covered balls http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2011/04/no-bake-vanilla-cake-batter-chocolate-truffles.html on a blog the other day and saw the words, “Cake Batter” associated with them and I was sold!

They are insanely easy to make (as long as you can read directions, which I apparently had an issue with).

Ingredients:
-1 cup cake mix (Vanilla)
-1/4 cup Sweetened Condensed Milk
– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
-1 tbsp agave (I used extra sweetened condensed milk)
-Chocolate Bark

Procedure:
Mix dry and wet ingredients (except chocolate bark) in a bowl.  (I quadrupled the recipe when I was trying to double it so I used all of the cake mix and about a can and a half of sweetened condensed milk.)   The recipe I used says to freeze or refrigerate the  dough before rolling into balls.  What I did was let it sit for about 10 minutes, which allowed it to harden up a little, so it wasn’t dry.  I then scooped out balls and used some cake flour as I scooped and made sure they were coated in the flour before playing them in a parchment paper lined pan.  This stopped them from being sticky.  I froze them for about 15 minutes.  Then I melted the bark and dipped each ball in chocolate.  I added these adorable pastel sprinkles while they were still wet.  The recipe on the other blog says that 1/4 of what I made makes 20 balls.  I made 51 balls exactly (I didn’t have my normal scoop either for consistency, but still.)

The problem I encountered was as they sat on the countertop during our party, they began to crack open.  I don’t know why that happened and will have to experiment more to figure it out.

When it all comes down to it, I found they were not NEARLY as sweet as I thought they would be, but they were definitely the hit of the party!

Enjoy!
Happy eating!
-Amanda

5 comments

  1. these look yummy. ginger and i are pro cake ballers.


    • I became a pro cake baller this week. I wish I would’ve known that sooner. I could’ve gotten some good Bert advice! 🙂


  2. If they are cracking it’s because they were too cold/frozen when you dipped them. As they start to warm up with the melted chocolate, they expand and burst out of their chocolate shells. That’s what I found to be the case with cake balls. Next time, try refridgerating instead of freezing or freezing for a shorter time. Happy baking!


    • They were not frozen. I had kept them in the fridge. It was a puzzle to me since they weren’t frozen or really all that cold when I dipped them. They cracked much later in the evening so I’m not sure what the deal was! Boo. Thanks for the advice though!


  3. […] most returning visitors are for our Corn, Crab, Shrimp Soup recipe and Cake Ball & Cake Batter Ball […]



Leave a Reply

