h1

Seven (or is it Six?) Layer Dip

May 16, 2011

I know Seven layer dip is an old staple in most peoples diets / cookbooks, but I somehow have never made it.  I mean, I’ve eaten plenty of it in my life, but never built one myself.  I went with a pretty classic version so here it goes:

Ingredients:
-Refried Beans (I used Vegetarian so Melissa could eat it!)
-Avocado (Store bought Guacamole, just avocado)
-Sour Cream
-Diced Tomatoes
-Shredded Cheese
-Sliced Black Olives

Procedure:
The procedure is pretty simple.  I used a 9 x 9 in pyrex dish and dumped the entire can of refried beans in and leveled it along the bottom.  I then added the avocado on top spreading it evenly across the beans.  Next comes about 12 ounces of sour cream.  You could easily do more, I’m just not a huge sour cream lover.  I then added shredded cheese to cover and then chopped up tomatoes and a can of black olives to top.

Serve with tortilla chips and it is sure to disappear quickly!

Happy Eating!
-Amanda

4 comments

  1. crowd pleaser. the actual number of layers is always up for debate 🙂


  2. ps i mix one packet of taco seasoning in my sourcream.


  3. That’s a great idea Rebecca! Thanks! 🙂


  4. i should’ve attributed it to Ginger bert 🙂



Leave a Reply

