h1

Black Cocoa Cookies!

January 20, 2012

I baked a delicious batch of Black Cocoa cookies back in September of last year for David’s team.  I didn’t go crazy with decorating because I just wanted practice baking the cookies and icing them. I used a recipe I got in a baking class I took and it turned out delicious.  They taste like oreo cookies!

Ingredients
1 cup butter – room temperature
2 cups white granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 Tbsp vanilla
3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3⁄4 cup black cocoa  (This was found at the bake shop, but I’ve seen it at a spice shop or natural grocery store)
1 tsp baking powder
1⁄2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

Procedure:
Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until smooth. Add cocoa and mix. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt and add to mixture. Mix just until well incorporated – but you don’t see any white flour. Don’t over mix. Roll out dough to 1/4 inch thickness between two pieces of parchment paper. Refrigerate flattened dough for 1 hour. Preheat oven to 350°. Peel parchment off of top side. Flip and peel off other parchment sheet. Cut into shapes and place cookies 1 inch apart on parchment lined cookie sheets. Bake 10 minutes until cookie is stiff t the touch. Cool. Decorate with royal icing. Makes approximately 36 medium size cookies.

Royal Icing was used to decorate the cookies from the following recipe:

Ingredients
3 Tbsp Meringue Powder
4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar (about 1 lb)
6 Tbsp water (or combination water and flavor)

Procedure
Beat all ingredients at low speed for 7-10 minutes until icing forms peaks. This recipe makes a stiff royal icing. Water can be added to make a thinner icing – the consistency for flooding is like thick paint. Stiff icing is used for cookie borders/outlines while thinner icing is used to fill-in border areas.
I tried royal icing once before on my own and it was terrible.  I really recommend taking a class somewhere to watch a professional make it first.  The consistency is hard to explain in writing, but so easy to understand in a class!  I hope you enjoy the cookies!

(I forgot to take a good picture with my camera, so I got this one with my phone.)

Happy Eating!
-Amanda

recipe courtesy of http://www.allinonebakeshop.com

Leave a Reply

