h1

Taco Casserole

February 6, 2012

Casseroles are one of my most favorite things to bake and I discovered some delicious taco bake casseroles a couple years back.  I modify them every time and make changes based on what is in my kitchen.  With that said, I’m going to post one of the original recipes and then discuss modifications I’ve made.

The recipe that first inspired me was from Healthy.Delicious.com  

Ingredients:
Tortilla Chips (or Corn Tortillas)
1 tbsp Chili Oil (I used Chili/Garlic Oil)
1 Onion, chopped
2 cloves Garlic, minced
1 pound ground chicken (I’ve used beef and turkey before, Chorizo would be good too)
2 tbs Taco Seasoning (or your own seasoning)
1 can black beans, drained
1 cup salsa
1 cup shredded fat free or reduced fat cheese (I use more like 1 pound of cheese)

Procedure:
Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Heat oil in skillet and saute onion and garlic until soft.  Add meat and seasonings and cook for about 5 minutes.  Add beans, salsa or any other flavors (I think I put corn in here).  Mix well and let thicken.

Spray bottom of rectangular pyrex dish.  Layer bottom with chips or tortillas.  At this point, I layered everything like a mexican lasagna and in any order.

Bake for 20 minutes or until cheese is melted.  The meat should be cooked already so you’re just letting all the flavors mix and settle.

You can serve with sour cream or olives or avocado or really anything you’d like!

I believe I added salsa on top after the final layer of tortillas were put on top to help soften and flavor everything. I love when the tortillas get a little crispy from the baking process so don’t cover completely, just make sure there is enough liquid to season the tortillas.

Happy Eating!
-Amanda

Leave a Reply

