h1

Mini Cakes

February 20, 2012

Many of you don’t probably didn’t know that I don’t actually have a full size oven.  I have more of a “toaster” size oven, so I get slightly more creative with my baking!  I don’t often get the urge to bake and it certainly doesn’t help that my little oven can cook only 6 cookies at a time, 6 muffins at a time, etc!  Tonight, I beat the little oven and made delicious, adorable, and fairly quick – mini cakes (cause everything is cuter when it’s mini)!

So tonight I decided I wanted to bake something more bite sized, but I wanted to be quicker than 6 cookies at a time!  I decided to bake a chocolate cake which I would then cut into smaller circles and decorate!  Since I am not the baker my sister is, I used a box cake mix.  I then used a biscuit cutter in the smallest size I had to cut the cake into smaller circles.  As you can see below, I have a bit of cake left over.  Mmmm


Anyway – I cut the circles while the cake was still a bit warm, and then let them cool.  Once cool, I melted a bit of chocolate icing to pour over the top. While the icing was still warm, I dropped some pieces of walnut on the top.

And finally – I drizzled just a bit more icing on top to keep them from falling off and because you just can’t have too much chocolate.  Mmm.

Leave a Reply

