h1

Pork and Hominy Chili

February 23, 2012

It has been cold the past few days so I decided I wanted to make a soup or stew.  I pulled out a few of my cookbooks and let David pick between a few recipe options.  He decided Pork and Hominy Chili sounded interesting so we headed to the grocery store and picked up the necessary ingredients.  It turns out it was pretty good, although the recipe called for entirely too little meat and seasoning.  We quadrupled the meat amount and more than doubled the seasoning.  I’ll share the exact recipe from my Cooking Light cookbook and then share what I did differently.

Ingredients:
-2 teaspoons canola oil
-8 ounces boneless center-cut pork chops, trimmed and cubed  (I used one pound)
-1 cup chopped onion (about 1 medium)
-3/4 cup chopped green bell pepper
-2 teaspoons bottled minced garlic
-1 tablespoon chili powder
-2 teaspoons ground cumin
-1/4 teaspoon salt
-1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
-1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
-1/4 cup no-salt-added tomato paste (I used a whole small can)
-1 (15.5-ounce) can golden hominy, rinsed and drained (I used two cans)
-1 (14.5-ounce) can no-salt-added diced tomatoes, undrained
-1 (14-ounce) can fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth (I used two small boxed broths)
-1/4 cup light sour cream (I did not use this)

Procedure:
-Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add pork to pan; sauté 5 minutes or until lightly browned. Add onion, bell pepper, and garlic to pan; sauté 5 minutes or until tender. Stir in chili powder and next 4 ingredients (through red pepper). Cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir in tomato paste, hominy, tomatoes, and broth; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes.

My edits were listed in the ingredients, but I did almost double the ingredients from the chili powder through red pepper flakes.  There wasn’t nearly enough seasoning in the small amount they included, but of course I did add lots more meat and hominy.

Overall, it was pretty delicious and I think I’ll make it again.  I cooked it for a couple hours so the pork would be really tender.  I think it might even be better with leftover pork roast or pulled pork.  The more tender the better!

Happy eating!
-Amanda

This recipe can be found online at: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/pork-hominy-chili-10000001654650/

Leave a Reply

