h1

Jambalaya

March 1, 2012

Having roots from Louisiana, Jambalaya is one of my favorite things to eat.  Growing up my mom made it a lot and luckily, my husband’s father did too!  Before we were married, David made us his father’s recipe and it was delicious!  At that point, I knew David was a keeper.  I was also impressed David made something from scratch!

I recently needed something to bring to share with my class so I decided to make the jambalaya and they were very happy with the end product.

Recipe courtesy of Gary, my wonderful father-in-law.  🙂

Ingredients:
-1 lb. chicken thighs-1 lb. sauage slice 1/4 inch
-1/2 lb. cubed ( you can fine ham packaged w/ cubed ham )
-1 large onion chopped
-1 bellpepper chopped
-2 cups rice-1 can rotel
-2 rounded tsp. cajun season-1/2 tsp. thyme( ground )
-1 rounded tsp. garlic
-1 can chicken broth

Procedure:
Cut chicken up and saute in 3 tbs. oil until white. Remove from pot and add 1tbs. oil. Add onion and bellpepper and saute till soft. Stir often. When soft add sauage , ham  and chicken. Cook 2-3 min.  Add your rice and stir 2-3 min.
—Prior to doing this last couple of steps measure your rotel and chicken broth plus water to atotal of 4 cups liquid.Add to pot and bring to boil. While waiting for the boil add cajun season, thyme , and garlic. When it starts boiling, cover and reduce heat to a low simmer for 20 min. Uncover and stir occasionally. Cover and simmer for 20 min more. Check an see if all the liquid  has been absorbed.

This last image is actually from when David made it last time, but I can tell you mine was just as delicious and I can’t wait to make it again.  It tastes so yummy!

Happy cooking!
-Amanda

Leave a Reply

