h1

Turkey Meatloaf

March 5, 2012

Last night I made turkey meatloaf as an easy meal, but something I hadn’t made in a while (or in turkey version).  I followed the recipe in the book mostly, and then decided to veer off.  I’ll explain my likes and dislikes at the end!

Ingredients:
-1 1/2 pounds lean ground turkey
-1 onion, chopped
-1 bunch spinach, thick stems removed and leaves chopped (about 4 cups)
-1 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped
-1/2 cup whole-wheat bread crumbs
-2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
-1 large egg white
-Kosher salt and black pepper
-1/4 cup ketchup

Procedure:
1. Heat oven to 400° F. In a bowl, combine the turkey, onion, spinach, parsley, bread crumbs, mustard, egg white, and ½ teaspoon each salt and pepper.

2. Transfer the mixture to a baking sheet and form it into a 10-inch loaf. Spread with the ketchup. Bake until cooked through, 45 to 50 minutes.

Recipe from Real Simple.

I made a few changes to the recipe. For example, although I have spinach in my recipe and lack mustard in my picture, I did just the opposite.  I used mustard and forgot to add the spinach!  I also used dried parsley and a whole egg.  I’m sure the egg white is healthier.  My meatloaf trick is to put a slice of bread (or two) at the bottom of the loaf pan to absorb grease.  It works wonders, even though the turkey was lean!

 The changes I would make next time are the following: less or no onion (too sweet!), more ketchup, more salt and pepper.  I also think I might like it mixed beef and turkey, just to give it more umph.  It’s a thought.  We’ll see!

Happy eating!
-Amanda

Leave a Reply

