h1

Birthday Cake

March 19, 2012

Melissa turned 30 this year and we celebrated in style!  Here is the cake I made her for her big day!

The cake is a white cake with buttercream icing.  I baked two 8 inch cakes one night, glazed them in apricot glaze and then refrigerated them.  The next day I made buttercream icing from scratch and iced the cake.  I covered the buttercream in a buttercream fondant from the Duff line of baking products. It tasted much better than the wilton fondant and was easier to use.

I am never able to get my fondant perfectly smooth (see below) so if you have any advice, please share.

I piped white buttercream for the pearls along the bottom and black-ish buttercream for the fringe.  The flapper girl and words are written in a fondant marker I bought at a local store.

It was really delicious and gone fast!

Happy eating!
-Amanda

One comment

  1. It was so yummy and moist!



Leave a Reply

