h1

Fabric Flowers, a follow up

January 17, 2013

Hello!

I decided before my Monday post ever went up that I probably should’ve posted about how to make these beautiful fabric flowers first.  I even thought about switching the order of the blogs so this one went first and then the wreath, but I decided to keep the order in hopes to lead to excitement for today’s blog.  Did it work?

I had a vision for my wedding that included beautiful fabric blue flowers lining the aisle with candles (battery operated) to create a little bit of that crafty, vintage atmosphere I was going for.  I think it was a huge success.  Seriously one of my favorite pieces of the wedding scene.

Fabric Flowers lining the aisle

Fabric Flowers lining the aisle

These are super easy to make and more fun with a group of people working on them!

Supplies:
Fabric (the lighter weight the better, any color you want!)
Compass Rotary Cutter (I own this one, and love it!)
Cutting mat
Corresponding thread
Needle

Directions:

  1. You first need to decide on the diameter of your circles.  Mine are approximately 3 inches in diameter.  Adjust your rotary cutter to the radius (half the diameter) and cut away!  
  2. You need 9 circles per flower.  
  3. Once you have those 9 circles, fold each circle in half and then in half again.
  4. Stack the 9 folded circles so they all line up (like stacked pie slices).
  5.  With a strong needle and thread, stitch just near the point of the slice, from the top of the pile through all layers to the bottom.  Do this stitch as many or as few times as needed to hold your fabric together.  
  6. Tie off the thread and voila, you have a fabric flower.  They need to be played with to lay perfectly, but sometimes the way they flop gives them extra character. 
Fabric Flowers

Fabric Flowers

I have many, many of these flowers and am hoping to do lots of crafts with them.  I also think I may make some in new colors for other festive wreaths and such.  Any brainstorms on other crafts for my flowers are greatly appreciated!

Happy Crafting!
Amanda

Leave a Reply

