h1

Vegetable and Buffalo Soup

January 28, 2013

Hello readers,

This is my first cooking post in while, but since we have been attempting to convert to paleo, I have had a hard time finding something to blog about foodwise.  Let’s be honest: Paleo is really hard to do.  We love to eat, and in general we eat pretty well.  Paleo cuts out dairy, grains, legumes, sugar, etc.  Those are a few of my favorite things!  We have decided to start off by converting our dinners to paleo and then move into lunches and dinners.  I have attempted to cut down or remove completely oats, dairy, sugar, etc.  I know there are friends of ours out there who have mastered paleo; you impress me.

Veggie and Buffalo Soup

Veggie and Buffalo Soup

David and I headed to the store and decided we wanted to make a soup for this cold weather.  It would go a long way and be easy to make while I went to work on a weekend.  We collected a load of vegetables and decided on buffalo stew meat as our big protein.  We were both very excited to try this very lean red meat in a meal.  I am going to give the ingredients below, but without measurements because frankly I didn’t measure anything!  Add as much or as little as you’d like.  Substitute veggies.  Change the seasoning!  Make it your own.

Ingredients
-Baby Carrots
-2 small Zucchini
-1 Onion
-1 Green Bell pepper
-2 cans of Diced Tomatoes
-Kale
-Fresh garlic
-Black Pepper
-Salt
-Parsley
-2 lbs Buffalo Stew Meat
-Chicken Stock

Directions:
These are ridiculously easy.  I used a slow cooker.  Chop up all the veggies to your liking of size.  We did small cuts of everything so everything could fit on the spoon at once for a hearty bite.  Once chopped, put everything into your crock pot.  Add raw meat and seasonings.  Fill with chicken stock till covered.  I added the Kale with only about 30 minutes left to cook. Cook on high for 5 or 6 hours.

Veggie and Buffalo Soup

Veggie and Buffalo Soup

We were both very pleased with how it turned out.  I normally make a beef stew so this was different with buffalo and as a soup.  David would add a can of rotel tomatoes if he made it, but I might add a bit more garlic or pre-cook the meat after sautéing the onions, peppers and garlic to help infuse the flavors more.

I hope you try this recipe sometime and let me know what you think!

Happy cooking!
-Amanda

2 comments

  1. Thanks for posting this! First I had heard of the paleo diet and I think it may be a good fit for me and the grandson!


    • You are welcome. Paleo is a very tough diet to get on, but apparently can do wonders for people. We’ve moved a little off of paleo at this point, but are still gluten, dairy, and sugar-free! I’ll post a few more recipes as I find ones I like. 🙂



Leave a Reply

