h1

Gnome Garland

March 25, 2013

Hello friends!

I had the pleasure of attending the wedding of some good friends this weekend.  It was a beautiful ceremony followed by a great reception.

Prior to the wedding, I was asked by the mother of the bride to make some new garland for the couple.  After marriage both of their initials will be L.E.P.  The second component of this garland are the awesome gnomes.  This couple is fabulously quirky, and they love gnomes.  (Their cake topper was even a little gnome couple!)

Supplies:
-Felt
-Die Cut Machine (or letters to trace and cut out)
-Gnome Fabric
-Interfacing (Iron on, paper backed)
-Ric Rac (or any ribbon really)

Supplies for Gnome Garland

Supplies for Gnome Garland

Procedure:
1. I started by cutting all the letters out of felt on my die cut machine (have I mentioned I bought a die cut machine? LOVE IT!)  The only mistake I made here was that with these letters, I should’ve used interfacing and doubled up the stiffness of the felt.  (I’ll show you how I made it work later.)

2. Iron interfacing to back of gnome fabric.

Felt Backing on Gnomes

Felt Backing on Gnomes

3. Peel paper layer and iron felt to back of gnomes.

Felt Backing on Gnomes

Felt Backing on Gnomes

4. Individually cut out each gnome with love and care.

Cut out Gnome Close Up

Cut out Gnome Close Up

5. Line up gnomes and letters on ric rac allowing extra on the ends to tie the garland.

Gnome Letter Garland

Gnome Letter Garland

6. Once I realized my letters were too floppy, I went back and stitched along the bottom of the three letters to hold them together.  That got tricky because I had to make sure they were spaced enough apart to not pull and twist each other.

Gnome Letter Garland

Gnome Letter Garland

In general, I love the final product.  The gnomes really make it though!  The bride and groom were so happy with their surprise decor too!

Congratulations, gnomies!  Have a great honeymoon!

Love,
Amanda

Leave a Reply

