h1

Stuffed Peppers and Potato Wedges

August 8, 2013

Hey Everyone!

Stuffed Peppers is one of my favorite recipes when I feel like changing it up with ground meat.  The recipe below is really easy as well as delicious. Feel free to sub with ground turkey rather than beef if you’d like.  It’s also delicious.  As you’ll see, I paired the peppers with potato wedges and a salad. I’ll show you how I make the Stuffed Peppers and potatoes.  I hope your mouth is watering when you’re done reading!

What you need for the Stuffed Peppers:

4  Bell Peppers (Whatever color you prefer, I used green)
1 – 2 lbs Ground Meat (Again, I used beef, but turkey is yummy as well)
1/2 cup cooked rice
1 cup water
2 cans tomato sauce
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1/4 tsp Garlic powder
1/4 tsp Onion powder
1 tsp Italian Seasoning
1 cup parmesan cheese

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Then, start by cutting the peppers in half. I usually just cut the tops off depending on the size to ensure a pretty decent portion for each pepper.  Discard the tops and seeds.  Steam these in the microwave until tender.  About 7 – 10 min.  Afterward, place them face down to drain the water.

Steamed Peppers

Steamed Peppers

Next, brown the meat.  Mix in the rice, 1 can of tomato sauce, Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, salt and pepper.  Once mixed,  spoon even amounts into each pepper.

Mix remaining tomato sauce, Italian seasoning and cheese. Pour this on top.

Bake for 30 min at 350 degrees.  Once done, I typically sprinkle a little more cheese on the top for a finishing garnish… Mmmm.

For the potatoes, I usually cut red potatoes into wedges and sprinkle with salt, pepper, olive oil and basil.  Bake until tender and golden brown!  These will take a bit longer than the peppers, so be sure to start first.  I also like to flip them about 20 minutes in to ensure even browning.

Potatoes

And here’s the finished product.  I added a small salad to each plate for some greens.  So yummy.

Finished Stuffed Peppers

Finished Stuffed Peppers, Potatoes and Salad

Hope you enjoy!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

