h1

Furlough Quilt

October 10, 2013

Hello friends,

For those of you who do not know me personally, I am one of those people furloughed due to government shut down.  I have decided to embrace the time off and be crafty!  (As you can tell, I’ve been blogging, which I’m so excited for!)  I’ve been maintaining a clean home, cooking, and crafting.  I decided late last week that I wanted to quilt.  Nothing big or extravagant.   I’m not completely with it during this pregnancy, so I decided on a color blocked quilt with pretty quilting.  I dug through my fabric stash (not the new stuff) and found some big pieces of fabric that would make for a beautiful, and patriotic, furlough quilt.

I made the quilt roughly baby quilt size.  I’m such a fan of americana colors, it’ll be the perfect addition to our baby’s already bright and happy nursery.   Baby’s grandma already made a bright striped quilt so this will be a second quilt for baby to enjoy!  You can never have too many quilts, right?  🙂

What do you think?

Cut.Bake.Stitch: Furlough Quilt

Cut.Bake.Stitch: Furlough Quilt

Cut.Bake.Stitch: Furlough Quilt

Cut.Bake.Stitch: Furlough Quilt

Furlough Quilt

Furlough Quilt

Cut.Bake.Stitch: Furlough Quilt

Cut.Bake.Stitch: Furlough Quilt

 

I chose to do rounded edges on the quilt because I have never done that before, and I thought it might be easier.  It wasn’t too difficult really.  I found this how-to and then went with it.

Cut.Bake.Stitch: Rounded edges

Cut.Bake.Stitch: Rounded edges

I hope you like the quilt as much as I do.  I will admit, my edging is not perfect.  It could’ve been better if my back didn’t hurt so much while I was trying to hand stitch it.  I resorted to top stitching, which doesn’t always turn out nicely.  I’m very happy with it though and can’t wait to use it!

Happy quilting,
Amanda

Leave a Reply

