h1

Coffee Filter Garland.

October 24, 2013

Hello!

Finished Coffee Filter Garland

Finished Coffee Filter Garland

I bet you’re excited to see this craft doesn’t involve a wreath, aren’t you?  I decided to make a garland, but not just any garland.  I’ve been saving this stash of unused coffee filters for a while now and finally decided to make something with it.  I found this really easy to make garland online and decided to run with it.  Check out the process below.

Materials:
Unused coffee filters
-Food coloring
-water
-Cups
-Drying rack
-Sewing machine
-Scissors

Directions:

1. Divide your coffee filters into stacks.  I made 12 stacks because I was going to try to make 12 different color dyes.

Coffee Filters

Coffee Filters

2. Add a small amount of water and food coloring to cups.  The less water, the higher concentrated color.  I used gel food coloring, but you can use regular food coloring as well.  I found they all faded to a lighter color once dried in the sun, so take that into account.  (Also, you may want to wear gloves.  I squeezed the excess water off and ended up with lovely greenish-blue hands.  Nothing a little baking soda couldn’t remove, but if you can prevent it, I say go for it!)

Dying Coffee Filters

Dying Coffee Filters

3. After dying each pile, I attached them to the drying rack in the sun.  I left them in piles of about 10 until they got closer to dry.  Once I had a few dry, I’d remove them or try to separate the filters to allow them to dry more evenly.  The colors look very vibrant here, but you’ll see they faded after drying.

Dying Coffee Filters

Dying Coffee Filters

4. Once dried, randomly mix the coffee filters to create the effect you want in your garland.  I chose to make piles of between 7 and 10 coffee filters.  This allowed me to have a longer garland.  Once I had each pile, I folded them in half to keep them together, but give me guidance for the next step.

Dyed Coffee Filters

Dyed Coffee Filters

5.  Choose a thread color you’re happy with and stitch through each pile of coffee filters.  Leave some extra thread between each set of filters to allow the garland to sage and sway as you drape it.

Stitching coffee filters

Stitching coffee filters

6.  Once the filters are attached, you will cut them and fluff them to create your finished product.

How to cut coffee filters

How to cut coffee filters

Finished Coffee Filter Garland

Finished Coffee Filter Garland

 

Voila!  A beautiful garland for any occasion.  And so easy too!

Happy Garland!
-Amanda

Leave a Reply

